Not Enough

 

Have you ever felt that no one understands you? Do you ever feel that nothing feels right. Feeling you are just not enough. Feeling that you are not worth anything and you just go through the day feeling you rather be that other guy with everything you wish you had? The perfect grades? The perfect body? You feel like people’s words of comfort are just empty words? Then they go about their life. Wishing that they lived in your shoes for a day? Yet, you just put on a smile and pretend that everything is ok?

You are not alone, I have had those thoughts before. Somedays I feel empty, feeling that I wish I could be like someone else. Someone I thought had the better grades, the better body– a better person overall. Sometimes I just feel I am not enough and I despair. Yet, I just put on a smile because I felt like I just can’t explain it to others because they just won’t understand. I put on a smile because it’s the only way I could get through the day.

It feels horrible not feeling enough. Feeling that low self worth because I wish I rather be someone else. Thinking he’s everything you want and he’s everything that you dream you could be. Feeling dumb or not as smart as my friends. Feeling that I am inferior and they are smarter and have a better personality. Feeling that they are more well rounded. Playing a game of catch up.

I wish I had the answer to this problem, but I don’t. In the end, just know if you feel this way, you are not alone. We are all in this together.

 

 

pc:

2 thoughts on “Not Enough

  1. Great post! I think you highlight so many of the feelings that people think every single day of their lives.

    My own remedy to these recurring thoughts is simply to remind myself that I am on my own journey. In some ways its the same as yours, the same as anyone’s. We all want happiness and we all deserve it. Yet life, sadly does not work that way. It is all pure, unbiased chance. The universe does not owe us anything, but we owe it to ourselves and those who love us to be the best we can be.

    It’s taken me so many years to realise that I may envy that guy in the gym with a perfectly muscular physique for instance. But can he.dedicate as much time writing good content as I (try to) do. I doubt it. Building a great body takes time and dedication and I admire that, but we cannot all be good at everything. Perfectionism is simply achievable.

    So the point is, we all need each other. Diversity should be celebrated and so should all of our individual skills. Sorry for rambling on a bit, but this is the rule I try to live by every day.

    • I agree and when I have these thoughts (which are quite often– especially when I am interacting with people who are in my opinion better than me), I say to myself ‘be yourself’ and let me tell you… its easier said than done. I try to better myself (resolve past shortcomings)…. and I have. but in a world where there are ppl better than us… its hard.

Leave a Reply

