Dying for Another Moment

“I’m 99 for a moment
And dying for just another moment
And I’m just dreaming
Counting the ways to where you are” Five For Fighting, 100 Years

Regret, almost everybody’s got them. Wishing what could have been, would have been, had things been different. Maybe you wished you had spent more time with your ailing parent or grandparent. Maybe you wish you had spent more time with a friend who you may or may not see again. Or simply it’s wishing that you had allocated more time on what mattered most and forgetting what did not. I know– I have had a few regretful moments.

I was so busy working on my school work– so focused on getting that good grade– that I had totally neglected a really good friend of mine who has been there for me ever since I met him. He was my role model and most of my academic accomplishments were due to him. He selflessly offered me anything he could give. Other moments include wishing that I had more family time and didn’t sacrifice my health for a grade. I often wonder was it worth in the end? Was it worth sacrificing my health? Family? Best friend? Wondering what would or could have been? Believing that it would be all better had I not chose the road I went on. Wishing that I could turn back time and do it all over again.

People have told me that regret is a bad thing. Saying that I shouldn’t have regrets. Saying that I should be content with my decisions and move on. Well, I’m here to tell you, it’s ok to have regrets. It’s ok to wonder what could have been. It’s unavoidable. We are going to have regrets sometime in our life. Regrets remind us that we are flawed and make mistakes. They remind us that we need to change in the future and not make the same mistakes. And that time to change is now. Cause we have we don’t have forever on this earth and time flies by– fast. Maybe it would be too late by the time we realize we need to change. We would be dying for another moment.  

 

 

 

pc: 

Leave a Reply

